The first and only observatory of South Tyrol is located at the Untereggerhof farm in San Valentino in Campo.
The little village of San Valentino in Campo is located in the area of the Catinaccio-Latemar and is part of the municipality of Cornedo. Located at 1,117 m asl, San Valentino in Campo nestles on the slopes of the Val d’Ega, surrounded by meadows and forests. The German name of the village, which is Gummer, has first been mentioned in 1141 and derives from the term “comboros”, which means debris. Nevertheless a votive rock dedicated to Saturn implies much earlier settlements in this area.
The parish church of San Valentino in Campo is consecrated to S. Valentino and has first been mentioned in the 14th century. It was renovated in 1952, when the church was also provided with colourful glass windows, pieces of arts by Josef Widmoser. Since 1995 the steeple of the 16th century has been covered by shingles.
San Valentino in Campo also offers a unique attraction to its guests, which is its observatory. The observatory was named after the famous astronomer Max Valier, who was born in the city of Bolzano. Get an insight into the endless dimensions of our universe by visiting this attraction.
Our tip: a walk on the “planetary trail”, which starts at the observatory, leading to several planetary stations.